

Board of Trustees

Academic and Student Affairs Committee

March 31, 2015
President's Boardroom, The Horace Mann Center

MEMBERS IN ATTENDACE: Trustees Frank, Hill, Martin and Slakey.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING REMOTELY: Trustee Perez.

GUESTS: Trustee Johnson.

Meeting called to order at 10:42 AM.

MOTION made by Trustee Martin, seconded by Trustee Slakey to elect Trustee Hill as chair pro tempore in accordance with Westfield State University Board of Trustee Bylaws, Article IV, Section 6. Motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Perez call in at 10:45 AM. Trustee Hill stated he would be participating remotely due to his geographic distance.

MOTION made by Trustee Martin, seconded by Trustee Slakey to accept the minutes from the January 21, 2015 Academic and Student Affairs Committee meeting.

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Lawrence Johnson, Director for Non-Discrimination and University Compliance, and Ms. Evelyn Soucie, Associate Director for Human Resources, reviewed proposed policy eliminations and additions.

MOTION made by Trustee Slakey, seconded by Trustee Martin to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to eliminate the following policies now in existence at Westfield State University, and further propose the *Equal Opportunity, Diversity and Affirmative Action Plan (The Plan)*, which now covers the provisions of those policies, be adopted in their place; and to authorize any cross-references to language in *The Plan* to be made in all other Westfield State University publications.

- 1) Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity and Diversity Advisory Committee
- 2) Affirmative Action, Non-Discrimination and Diversity
- 3) Affirmative Action Plan: Policy Awareness Procedures
- 4) Age Discrimination
- 5) Discrimination Based on Race, Religion, National or Ethnic Origin
- 6) Discrimination Based on Gender and Sexual Orientation
- 7) Discrimination Complaint Procedure
- 8) Discriminatory Harassment
- 9) HIV/AIDS
- 10) Non-Discrimination and Accommodation for Persons with Disabilities
- 11) Racism
- 12) Sexual Harassment
- 13) Sexual Misconduct, Domestic Violence and Stalking

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION made by Trustee Slakey, seconded by Trustee Perez to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to accept the new *Workplace Violence* policy; and to authorize any cross-references to language in this new *Workplace Violence* policy to be made in all other Westfield State University publications.

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes

Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION made by Trustee Slakey, seconded by Trustee Martin to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to accept the new *Domestic Violence Leave* policy; and to authorize any cross-references to language in this new *Domestic Violence Leave* policy to be made in all other Westfield State University publications.

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes
Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes
Robert Martin Yes
Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Marsha Marotta, Vice President for Academic Affairs, reported on faculty promotions, tenure recommendations, and honorary degree nominations.

Trustees would like more information outlining how faculty are mentored and educated about the expectations of their performance and how evaluators are trained.

MOTION made by Trustee Martin, seconded by Trustee Slakey to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to approve the following faculty promotions, effective September 1, 2015, to:

<u>Promotion to the rank of Professor</u>

Dr. Liam Harte Philosophy

Dr. Melissa Roti Movement Science, Sport and Leisure Studies

Dr. Warren Turner Chemical and Physical Sciences

Promotion to the rank of Associate Professor

Dr. Carol Bailey English
Dr. David Christensen Biology

Dr. Susanne Chuku Economics and Management
Dr. Brian Conz Geography and Regional Planning

Dr. Terri Griffin Education

Mr. Keith Hollingworth Art

Dr. Y. Hugh Jo Political Science

Dr. Megan Kennedy Education

Dr. Alice Perry Criminal Justice

Dr. Aaron Reyes Chemical & Physical Sciences

Dr. Catherine Savini English
Dr. Chalet Seidel English

Dr. Henry Wefing Communication

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes
Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes
Robert Martin Yes
Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION made by Trustee Martin, seconded by Trustee Slakey to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to approve the granting of tenure, effective September 1, 2015, to:

Dr. Laura Baker Education

Dr. Byung Jun Cho Criminal Justice

Dr. Susanne Chuku Economics and Management

Dr. Peter Coutsouridis Music
Dr. Terri Griffin Education
Dr. Stephanie Grimaldi Education

Mr. Keith Hollingworth Art

Dr. Y. Hugh Jo Political Science
Dr. Sinuk Kang Communication

Dr. Chalet Seidel English
Dr. Summer Williams Psychology

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION made by Trustee Perez, seconded by Trustee Slakey to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to approve the recommendation to withhold granting tenure to Dr. Lawrence Hurd,

Assistant Professor for Biology, thereby terminating Dr. Hurd's appointment at Westfield State University effective May 31, 2016.

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

MOTION made by Trustee Slakey, seconded by Trustee Martin to authorize the Academic and Student Affairs Committee to forward motion to the full board: to approve the granting of an honorary degree to the following individuals, subject to a final vetting before the degree is granted:

Mr. Timothy Brennan, Doctor of Laws

Ms. Barbara Erickson, Doctor of Humanities

Mr. Brandon Stanton, Doctor of Humane Letters

ROLL CALL VOTE taken:

Joshua Frank (Secretary) Yes Terrell Hill (Chair Pro Tempore) Yes Robert Martin Yes Luis Perez Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 12:13 PM.