Westfield State University

Welcome to the Department of Mathematics

Faculty Home Core Advising Math Circles Art of Mathematics

Brian Jennings

Department Chair *On Sabbatical Spring 2019*
Office: Wilson 326F
Phone: (413) 572-8391
Email: bjennings@westfield.ma.edu

Karin Vorwerk

Professor
Office: Wilson 328D
Phone: (413) 572-5593
Email: KVorwerk@westfield.ma.edu

Julian Fleron

Professor
Office: Wilson 326B
Phone:(413) 572-5716
Email: jfleron@westfield.ma.edu

Philip Hotchkiss

Professor *On Sabbatical 2019*
Office: Wilson 328C
Phone: (413) 572-5575
Email: photchkiss@westfield.ma.edu

John Judge

Professor
Office: Wilson 326A
Phone:(413) 572-5361
Email: jjudge@westfield.ma.edu

Christine von Renesse

Professor
Office: Wilson 326H
Phone: (413) 572-5675
Email: cvonrenesse@westfield.ma.edu

Christine von Renesse is a passionate teacher, who loves teaching at all levels — from elementary school through College. She uses open inquiry techniques in all her classes, believing that this is the most effective and enjoyable way of learning and teaching. Her students learn to take responsibility, to think independently and to enjoy the endeavor of challenging questions with growing confidence.

The mathematics for liberal arts classes at Westfield State University allow Christine to bring her passion for dance and music into her mathematics life, exploring the deeper connections together with her students. In the mathematics courses for future K-12 teachers she brings her students into the classrooms, collaborating with the teachers in finding effective ways to explore mathematics together.

In her free time Christine loves to explore nature, sing in harmony and go dancing, especially with her daughter.

Christine has a Master's Degree in Elementary Education, a Minor in Music and a Master's Degree in Mathematics from the Technical University Berlin, Germany. After receiving her Ph.D. in Mathematics at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, she is now a professor at Westfield State University

Volker Ecke

Associate Professor
Office: Wilson 328B
Phone: (413) 572-5348
Email: vecke@westfield.ma.edu

Anna Rokicki

Professor
Office: Wilson 328C
Phone: (413) 572-5575
Email: arokicki@westfield.ma.edu

Edward Welsh

Professor *Acting Chair Spring 2019*
Office: Wilson 326C
Phone: (413) 572-5718
Email: ewelsh@westfield.ma.edu

James Wright

Associate Professor
Office: Wilson 324B
Phone: (413) 572-8777
Email: jwright@westfield.ma.edu

Philip DeOrsey

Assistant Professor
Office: Wilson 324C
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: pdeorsey@westfield.ma.edu

Jesse Johnson

Assistant Professor
Office: Wilson 326D
Phone: (413) 572-5717
Email: jwjohnson@westfield.ma.edu

Bryan Scott

Administrative Assistant
Office: Wilson 324D
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: bscott@westfield.ma.edu

Dori Gaulin

DGCE Advising
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: dgaulin@westfield.ma.edu

Mahmud Ahmadov

Adjunct Faculty
Office: online only
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: mahmadov@westfield.ma.edu

Charles Bookman

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: cbookman@westfield.ma.edu


Lynn "Skip" Clark

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: llclark@westfield.ma.edu


Mary Ann Connors

Adjunct Faculty
Office: online only
Phone: None
Email: mconnors@westfield.ma.edu



Paul Enman

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: penman@westfield.ma.edu

Cassie Gendron

Adjunct Faculty
Office: online only
Phone: 413-572-5349
Email: cgendron@westfield.ma.edu

Barry Hiney

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-8186
Email: bhiney@westfield.ma.edu

Jenny Livingstone

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: jlivingstone@westfield.ma.edu

Brenda Long

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: blong@westfield.ma.edu

Larry Morell

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: lmorell@westfield.ma.edu

Diane Morton

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: dmorton@westfield.ma.edu

Aderito Pires

Adjunct Faculty
Office: None
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: apires@westfield.ma.edu

Denise Reed

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: dreed@westfield.ma.edu



Rosann Ryczek

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: rryczek@westfield.ma.edu



Sue Stephens

Adjunct Faculty
Office: Wilson 326G/E
Phone: (413) 572-5349
Email: sstephens@westfield.ma.edu