Westfield State Foundation announces increased scholarship awards

The Westfield State Foundation, after a record-breaking year of raising more than $3 million, increased the amount of scholarship awards to students and honored philanthropist James Huffmire at its annual meeting in September.

As a result of the funding, the Foundation awarded 253 scholarships in 2017–18 to 194 students totaling $227,233. In addition, 161 internship scholarship awards were given, totaling $281,642. Total support eclipsed one-half of a million dollars. Representing the scholarship award recipients at the annual meeting were Thomas Howard, a junior from Agawam majoring in history and political science, and Alexander Dedinas of Millbury, a senior criminal justice major. Each student thanked their supporters and shared how the scholarship aid has helped their pursuit of a degree from Westfield State.

The Foundation presented its 2018 Stewardship Award to James Huffmire for his vision, commitment and leadership to the students, faculty and staff through many years of service. Huffmire has served as a Foundation director and has sat on numerous committees in the Westfield area.

Your gifts and loyalty make a difference every day to our students and their success,” said Westfield State University President Ramon S. Torrecilha, Ph.D., as he acknowledged and thanked the members of the Foundation, who he described as “ardent supporters.”

Established in 1980, the Foundation is a philanthropic partner of the University, directed by Dr. Erica Broman, vice president for Institutional Advancement, and chaired by James M. Leahy. The Foundation effectively raises funds and carefully manages charitable gifts for the support of the University. For the first time in Westfield State history, more than $3 million in gifts and pledges were received in Fiscal Year 2018.

Dr. Broman said the organization’s success is due to the continued commitment among a dedicated team of volunteer directors and corporators.

PHOTO: Westfield State University President Ramon Torrecilha, Ph.D. (center), with scholarship recipients Thomas Howard '20 (left) and Andrew Dedinas '19.

Share this on...