Westfield State is closely monitoring the Coronavirus situation and planning appropriate responses. Visit our Coronavirus Update page


Board of Trustees

Office of the President


The 11 member Westfield State University Board of Trustees is appointed by the governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  Each member is appointed for a five-year term, with the possibility of one additional term of five years.  Each member of the board is required to take an oath to discharge faithfully, impartially, honestly, and to the best of his or her abilities the duties of a trustee. While trustee terms do expire, the trustees continue to serve on the board until a replacement has been appointed. View the 2019-2020 Committee Assignments.

PENC (Public Education Nominating Council) is charged with this responsibility of appointing trustees and outlines the qualifications on the provided site.

Kevin R. Queenin ’70

Kevin R. Queenin ’70, Chair

Kevin R. Queenin is the CEO of Specialty Bolt and Screw, Inc., the largest fastener distributor in the northeast, which is nationally recognized for innovative business solutions and partnerships. Specialty Bolt is headquartered in Agawam with offices in California, Canada, Finland, Mexico, and Taiwan. A member of the Westfield State Foundation, Queenin earned his bachelor’s degree from Westfield State in 1970.

Edward C. Sullivan

Edward C. Sullivan, Vice Chair

Edward C. Sullivan is a former mayor (2014-–15), former city councilor (2000–06) and a lifelong resident of the city of West Springfield. He serves as executive vice president of Sullivan Paper Company, Inc., an innovative convertor of quality specialty papers with an emphasis on design and color for more than 75 years, located in his hometown. Sullivan received his Bachelor of Science degree from Springfield College.

Lydia E. Martinez-Alvarez ’86, ‘04

Lydia E. Martinez-Alvarez ’86, ‘04, Secretary

Lydia E. Martinez-Alvarez made history when she was selected as the first Latina to serve as Assistant Superintendent at Springfield Public Schools, a role she has held since 2012. Martinez-Alvarez holds a Bachelor of Science in business management and a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies from Westfield State, a Master of Arts in Teaching from Elms College, and is a doctoral candidate at American International College.


Melissa Alvarado

Melissa Alvarado ’99, Alumni Trustee

Melissa Alvarado is an assistant vice president in enterprise risk management at MassMutual Financial Group and prior to that worked in its compliance and information technology organizations. She has served as the clerk of the Westfield State Foundation for the past two years. In addition to the B.S. in business administration that she earned in 1999 from Westfield State, Ms. Alvarado holds an M.B.A. in finance from Western New England University and earned an executive certification in leadership and management from the University of Notre Dame.

Paul D. Boudreau

Paul D. Boudreau

Paul D. Boudreau has served as an attorney and partner of Ryan & Boudreau, PC, in South Hadley since 1975. Boudreau has been highly active in his community, including 40 years of service as a South Hadley town meeting member and more than 20 years as a director and past president of the South Hadley Chamber of Commerce. He is a past chair of the Massachusetts Judicial Nominating Commission, past president of the Northwestern Children’s Advocacy Center, former director of Vanguard Bank and a former trustee and past chair of Holyoke Community College. Boudreau is a past chair and current director of the Holyoke Community College Foundation. He holds a B.S. in business administration from American International College and a J.D. from Western New England University.

James C. Hagan ’84

James C. Hagan ’84

James C. Hagan is the president and CEO of Westfield Bank. He previously served as a Westfield State University trustee from 1996 to 2006, including a two-year term as chair, and chaired the University’s Access to Excellence campaign, which resulted in the construction of the award-winning Woodward Athletic Center. Hagan holds a bachelor’s degree in business management from Westfield State University and an MBA from American International College.

Madeline Landrau, Secretary

Madeline Landrau

Madeline Landrau has worked at MassMutual for nearly 20 years, most recently as marketing director for multicultural market development. In her current position, Landrau leads the development and execution of marketing and recruiting strategies to help the company reach the U.S. Hispanic and Latino markets. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in human services from Springfield College.

Robert A. Magovern

Robert A. Magovern

Robert A. Magovern is president of the Agawam-based company Neighbor to Neighbor, a regional “new resident” welcoming company serving customers in Massachusetts and Connecticut. He previously served two terms on the Westfield State Board of Trustees and is active in Agawam, where he is a city councilor and chair of the Republican Town Committee. Magovern holds a Bachelor of Science in business administration from Boston University.

Robert A. Martin, Ph.D.

Robert A. Martin, Ph.D.

Dr. Robert A. Martin is a former dean of undergraduate studies and former associate vice president for academic affairs at Westfield State, where he spent 16 years in various positions before leaving for Framingham State. There, he served as vice president for academic affairs prior to filling in as the University’s interim president for one year. Dr. Martin earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology from Wesleyan University and his master’s and Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Rochester.

Thalita Neves

Thalita Neves, Student Trustee

Thalita Neves of Shrewsbury, Mass. was elected by the student body in April 2019 to serve as the Westfield State University student trustee for the 2019–20 academic year. A junior majoring in criminal justice and communications with a concentration in public relations, Neves served last year as the Student Government Association’s vice president of finance and president of the University’s chapter of the Lambda Sigma National Honors Society for second-year students. Neves is also a campus tour guide, a member of the University’s Honors Program, as well as a mentor to its underclassmen.


Gloria B. Williams, Ed.D. ’77

Dr. Gloria B. Williams is an educational consultant and leadership mentor, who previously completed a 21-year tenure as a master principal for the Springfield Public Schools. Her exceptional service in education, including as a representative for Superintendent’s Advisory Committee, was recognized when she received the 2019 Educational Legacy Achievement Award, presented by Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. She earned a B.S. in education from Westfield State College in 1977 and a Certificate in Advanced Graduate Studies, a M.Ed. and a Ed.D. from the University of Massachusetts Amherst.