

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Presidential Search Committee

March 16, 2021 Minutes

Meeting held virtually via Zoom

In accordance with Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker's Executive Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L. c. 30A, § 20 dated March 12, 2020.

A live stream of the open session of the meeting for public viewing also took place on YouTube.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING REMOTELY: Dr. Robert Martin, Chair, Melissa Alvarado (joined at 8:10 AM), Vice Chair, Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce, Junior Delgado, George Flevotomos, Dr. Brian Jennings, Ron'na J'Q Lytle, Lydia Martinez-Alvarez, Dr. Juline Mills (joined at 8:05 AM), Thalita Neves, Thomas Simard, Stephen Taksar, Dr. Gloria Williams, and also Dr. Jalisa Williams, ex officio resource to the committee and Jean Beal, secretary to the committee.

Also participating remotely from the presidential search firm WittKieffer were Lucy Leske, senior partner, Robert Luke, consultant, and Christine Pendleton (who joined toward the end of the executive session.)

Trustee Robert Martin, chair of the committee, called the meeting to order at 8:01 AM and announced each of the committee members participating remotely as listed above (all except Melissa Alvarado and Dr. Juline Mills at this time).

It was announced that only the open session portion of the meeting was being livestreamed, and, as a result will be captured as recorded.

At 8:03 AM, **MOTION** made by Ron'na Lytle, seconded by George Flevotomos, to approve the open session portion of the minutes of the March 3, 2021 Presidential Search Committee meeting.

There being no discussion, ROLL CALL VOTE taken:					
Melissa Alvarado	Not in meeting	Lydia Martinez-Alvarez	Yes		
Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce	Yes	Dr. Juline Mills	Not in meeting		
Junior Delgado	Yes	Thalita Neves	Yes		
George Flevotomos	Yes	Thomas Simard	Yes		
Dr. Brian Jennings	Yes	Stephen Taksar	Yes		
Ron'na J'Q Lytle	Yes	Dr. Gloria Williams	Yes		
Motion passed unanimously.		Dr. Robert Martin	Yes		

Approved March 23, 2021

Dr. Juline Mills joined the meeting at 8:05 AM.

Preparation for Candidate Interviews.

- Instructions and suggestions for asking the candidate questions was shared by WittKieffer with a reminder that the committee is recruiting these candidates to be the next president.
- There will be approximately ten minutes allowed for each of the six themes.
- Melissa Alvarado joined the meeting at 8:10 AM.
- If candidates have questions, committee members with expertise in that area should answer.
- Candidates are aware that there are a few themes to be discussed, that they will have 4-5 minutes to respond to each question, and that they will be allowed to ask questions at the end if there is remaining time. All candidates have seen the same information, consisting of the search committee website, Strategic Plan, BHE Equity Agenda, and the status of negotiations with faculty. All candidates are eager to see the University Efficiency Analysis Advisory Committee (UEAAC) report and have received a general sense of the objectives and where the University is in the UEAAC recommendation process.
- At the end of today's interviews, there will be additional committee discussion in executive session to identify an additional candidate to interview.

<u>Executive Session</u>. Trustee Martin stated the committee would be going into executive session for the purpose of discussing candidates pursuant to Open Meeting Law, G.L. Chapter 30A, Section 21(a) #8, as holding these discussions in an open session would have a detrimental effect on the University's ability to attract qualified applicants. Once in executive session, the live stream will end. The committee will adjourn from executive session and not reconvene in open session.

At 8:22 AM, **MOTION** made by Ron'na Lytle, seconded by Lydia Martinez-Alvarez, to enter into executive session.

There being no discussion, ROLL CALL VOTE taken:					
Melissa Alvarado	Yes	Lydia Martinez-Alvarez Yes	j		
Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce	Yes	Dr. Juline Mills Yes	j.		
Junior Delgado	Yes	Thalita Neves Yes			
George Flevotomos	Yes	Thomas Simard Yes	j.		
Dr. Brian Jennings	Yes	Stephen Taksar Yes	i		
Ron'na J'Q Lytle	Yes	Dr. Gloria Williams Yes	;		
Motion passed unanimously.		Dr. Robert Martin Yes			

The committee entered executive session and did not reconvene in open session.

Attachments presented at this meeting:

a. Open Session Minutes from March 3, 2021 meeting – Draft

Secretary's Certificate

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the approved open session portion of minutes of the Westfield State University Presidential Search Committee meeting held on March 16, 2021.

Jean Beal, Secretary

Date

Approved March 23, 2021