

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Presidential Search Committee

March 17, 2021 Minutes

Meeting held virtually via Zoom

In accordance with Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker's Executive Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L.8: c. 30A, § 20 dated March 12, 2020.

A live stream of the open session of the meeting for public viewing also took place on YouTube.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING REMOTELY: Dr. Robert Martin, Chair, Melissa Alvarado, Vice Chair, Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce, Junior Delgado, George Flevotomos, Dr. Brian Jennings, Ron'na J'Q Lytle, Dr. Juline Mills, Thalita Neves, Thomas Simard, Stephen Taksar, Dr. Gloria Williams (joined at 8:29 AM), and Jean Beal, secretary to the committee

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Lydia Martinez-Alvarez and Dr. Jalisa Williams, ex officio resource to the committee

Also participating remotely from the presidential search firm WittKieffer were Lucy Leske, senior partner, and Robert Luke, consultant.

Trustee Robert Martin, chair of the committee, called the meeting to order at 8:12 AM and stated the committee has identified a fourteenth candidate to interview. There will be five candidates interviewed today. He announced all committee members participating remotely as listed above (all except Dr. Gloria Williams at this time).

It was announced that only the open session portion of the meeting was being livestreamed, and, as a result will be captured as recorded.

<u>Executive Session</u>. Trustee Martin stated the committee would be going into executive session for the purpose of discussing candidates for the position of president, pursuant to Open Meeting Law, G.L. Chapter 30A, Section 21(a) #8, as holding these discussions in an open session would have a detrimental effect on the University's ability to attract qualified applicants. Once in executive session, the live stream will end. The committee will adjourn from executive session and not reconvene in open session.

At 8:14 AM, **MOTION** made by Dr. Brian Jennings, seconded by Stephen Taksar, to enter into executive session.

Melissa Alvarado Lydia Martinez-Alvarez Not in meeting Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce Yes Dr. Juline Mills Yes Junior Delgado Yes Thalita Neves Yes George Flevotomos Yes **Thomas Simard** Yes Dr. Brian Jennings Yes Stephen Taksar Yes Not in meeting Ron'na J'Q Lytle Yes Dr. Gloria Williams Motion passed unanimously. Dr. Robert Martin Yes The committee entered executive session and did not reconvene in open session. Attachments presented at this meeting: a. None **Secretary's Certificate** I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the approved open session portion of the minutes of the Westfield State University Presidential Search Committee meeting held on March 17,

Date

There being no discussion, **ROLL CALL VOTE** taken:

2021.

Jean Beal, Secretary