

BOARD OF TRUSTEFS

Presidential Search Committee

March 18, 2021 Minutes

Meeting held virtually via Zoom

In accordance with Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker's Executive Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L. c. 30A, § 20 dated March 12, 2020.

A live stream of the open session of the meeting for public viewing also took place on YouTube.

MEMBERS PARTICIPATING REMOTELY: Dr. Robert Martin, Chair, Melissa Alvarado, Vice Chair (joined at 1:58 PM), Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce, Junior Delgado, George Flevotomos, Dr. Brian Jennings, Ron'na J'Q Lytle, Dr. Juline Mills, Thalita Neves, Thomas Simard, Stephen Taksar, Dr. Gloria Williams, and also Dr. Jalisa Williams, ex officio resource to the committee, and Jean Beal, secretary to the committee.

MEMBERS EXCUSED: Lydia Martinez-Alvarez

Also participating remotely from the presidential search firm WittKieffer were Lucy Leske, senior partner, and Robert Luke, consultant. Christine Pendleton, senior associate, joined at 6:05 PM, while in executive session.

Trustee Robert Martin, chair of the committee, called the meeting to order at 1:48 PM and announced all committee members participating remotely as listed above (all except Melissa Alvarado at this time).

<u>Executive Session</u>. Trustee Martin stated it is the committee's third day of interviews and they would be going into executive session for the purpose of discussing candidates for the position of president, pursuant to Open Meeting Law, G.L. Chapter 30A, Section 21(a) #8, as holding these discussions in open session would have a deleterious effect on the University's ability to attract qualified applicants. Once in executive session, the live stream recording will end. The committee will adjourn from executive session and not reconvene in open session.

At 1:53 PM, **MOTION** made by Dr. Brian Jennings, seconded by Dr. Gloria Williams, to enter into executive session.

There being no discussion, **ROLL CALL VOTE** taken:

Melissa Alvarado Not in meeting Lydia Martinez-Alvarez Not in meeting

Dr. Claudia Ciano-Boyce Yes Dr. Juline Mills Yes Junior Delgado Yes Thalita Neves Yes

George Flevotomos	Yes	Thomas Simard Ye	S
Dr. Brian Jennings	Yes	Stephen Taksar Ye	:S
Ron'na J'Q Lytle	Yes	Dr. Gloria Williams Ye	2S
Motion passed unanimously.		Dr. Robert Martin Ye	!S

The committee entered executive session and did not reconvene in open session.

Attachments presented at this meeting:

a. None

Secret	ary's Certificate
, ,	correct copy of the approved open session portion of lential Search Committee meeting held on March 18,
	 Date