Nevins Award Nomination

John F. Nevins Outstanding Educator Award

The Office of Academic Affairs at Westfield State University is now accepting nominations for the John F. Nevins Outstanding Educator Award.

The award is named after one of Westfield State University’s consummate educators and administrators. Dr. Nevins began his career at Westfield State College in 1969, and served the college in many roles: as a Professor of Education in both undergraduate and graduate programs, as Dean of Undergraduate Studies in 1978; as Vice President for Academic Affairs, 1978-1986; as President, 1986-1987; and again as Vice President in 1987-1988. Dr. Nevins was the recipient of the Division of Graduate and Continuing Education’s Outstanding Educator Award in 1993, and after his death, the award was renamed in his honor.

Graduate and continuing education students, faculty, staff, and administrative members of the Westfield State University community may nominate any full or part-time faculty member teaching a graduate or continuing education course during the Summer, Fall, Winter or Spring semesters. The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2023.

The selection will be made by a panel of judges consisting of representatives from the graduate student body and Westfield State University administration, staff, and faculty.  The award will be announced at the 2023 Graduate Commencement Ceremony.

If you wish to nominate a faculty member for the John F. Nevins Outstanding Educator Award, please complete the nomination form by clicking the link below.

Some qualities to consider when contemplating a nomination are:

  • Concern with student learning
  • Openness to other views
  • Thoroughness in covering material
  • Knowledge of subject area
  • Commitment to graduate and continuing education students and programs
Click here to submit your nomination