The New England Commission on Higher Education is the regional accreditor for Westfield State University. Formerly, the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) The New England Commission of Higher Education is one of seven accrediting commissions in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. The Commission, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits approximately 220 institutions in the six-state New England region as well as several American-style institutions overseas.

  As part of the reaccreditation process, the university undertakes a , rigorous self-examination that challenges the institution to measure and verify its achievements and reflect on its strengths and weaknesses. In response to the Standards of Accreditation, the self-study describes what the institution does, appraises how well the institution is achieving  its objectives, and projects future actions that the institution plans to accomplish with respect to the standards.. Thus, long after the self-study has been completed, it may be used as an integral part of an ongoing institutional planning process.

The self-study process is followed by a three-day campus visit by a team of peer evaluators comprised of faculty and administrators from similar NECHE accredited institutions. The conclusions of this evaluation are summarized in a written report that addresses not only the institution's successes in fulfilling its mission, but also areas where improvements should be made.

In addition to undergoing a comprehensive evaluation every ten years, institutions accredited by NECHE are required to submit an interim report during the fifth year of the accreditation cycle.  The interim report typically addresses concerns or recommendations raised during the previous accreditation process and updates the Commission on any significant changes that have taken place.

Student Presenting at CURCA Fair

Contact Us

Office of Academic Assessment and Accreditation