Scholarships and Awards for English Majors

John F. & Celeste M. Loughman Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to rising sophomore, junior, or senior English majors, selected by the English department. Awards are based on a combination of academic achievement and financial need. Multiple scholarships will be awarded.

Applicants must include a 500-word personal statement on how their English studies have distinctly shaped the way they see and understand the world by using an key idea, principle or practice gleaned about literary analysis, writing practices or a particular writer/genre to help illustrate what influences these have had on their English studies.

Barbara A. "Katie" Welch Scholarship

The Barbara A. “Katie” Welch Scholarship honors the memory of beloved Professor Katie Welch who began her career in 1968 in the English Department at Westfield State College. She taught with wit and erudition sharing her passion for music, dance, theater and the visual arts and the diverse cultures of the world that she travelled joyfully. She earned her Ph.D. at the University of Michigan. Katie had a fierce sense of justice and fairness, and she insisted that the college pursue these virtues.
Teaching gave her great joy because it enabled her to impart these passions to her students. Thus she enriched the lives of many at Westfield State, not only her students, but her colleagues as well.

Award Details:
  • Recipient receives a one-time, non-renewable award for one academic year.
  • One scholarship will be awarded.
  • Applicants must be enrolled full-time in an undergraduate program at Westfield State.
  • Applicants must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Preference will be given to students majoring in English or Theater.
  • Applicants are required to write a 750-word essay and must be actively involved in community and campus life.

Academic Awards

Along with scholarships, the English Department gives four academic excellence awards every year: the Celeste Loughman Academic Excellence Award, the Bette B. Roberts Academic Excellence Award, the Barbara A. Welch Academic Excellence Award, and the Stephen Sossaman Academic Excellence Award.