Graduate & Continuing Education Advising

Advising, in all forms, is an important part of your time here at Westfield State University. Whether you need help picking classes, want to change your major, or are looking for career advice, the CGCE can connect you to someone who can help!

CGCE students are strongly encouraged to connect with their academic advisor every semester. Your academic advisor can help you pick classes and has expertise in the field you are pursuing. They are an extremely valuable resource and you should check in with them frequently.

Common Questions

When should I meet with my advisor?
There are many times when it is appropriate to meet with your advisor, such as:

  • Before you begin your first semester at Westfield State
  • Each semester before you register for classes
  • If you are having trouble in a class or with your major
  • If you would like to take a class elsewhere and transfer it in
  • If you have questions about licensing requirements
  • If you’re interested in going to graduate school

Who is my Advisor?

Please see the chart below to find out who the advisor for your program is and how you should make an appointment to meet with them.

Advisors for Graduate and Continuing Education Programs

Program How to make an appointment   Advisor
Accounting (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Accounting (grad) Email emoore@westfield.ma.edu Erin Moore
Applied Behavior Analysis (grad) Email jreyes@westfield.ma.edu Jorge Reyes
Art (undergrad) Email Art Department Art Department
Art (post-bacc) Email dshapleigh@westfield.ma.edu David Shapleigh
Biology (post-bacc/grad)

Email dchristensen@westfield.ma.edu

Email kmckeown@westfield.ma.edu (Fall 2022 advisor)

David Christensen

Kelly Anne McKeown 

Biology (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Communication Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Computer/Info Science  Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Counseling- Forensic (grad) Email jcamilleri@westfield.ma.edu Joseph Camilleri
Counseling-Mental Health (grad) Email rhayes@westfield.ma.edu Robert Hayes
Counseling-School (grad) Email mletasz@westfield.ma.edu Maria Letasz
Criminal Justice (undergrad) Email jjones@westfield.ma.edu John Jones
Criminal Justice (grad) Email ckudlac@westfield.ma.edu Christopher Kudlac
Education, Early Childhood (all levels) Email mkennedy@westfield.ma.edu Megan Kennedy
Education, Elementary (all levels) Call (413) 572-8020 for contact information Martin Henley
Education, Moderate Disabilities (all levels) Email tmcleod@westfield.ma.edu Tracy McLeod
Education, Reading Specialist (grad) Email sberkowitz@westfield.ma.edu Sandra Berkowitz
Education, Vocational (undergrad/grad) Call (413) 572-8020 for contact information Donald Jarvis
English (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
English (grad/post-bacc) Email gbrewster@westfield.ma.edu Glen Brewster
Environmental Science Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Ethnic and Gender Studies Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Finance (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Geography, Planning, Sustainability Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Health Sciences (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
History (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
History (grad/post-bacc) Email naieta@westfield.ma.edu Nicholas Aieta
Language and Cultural Studies (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Language and Cultural Studies (grad cert) Email hviera@westfield.ma.edu Hugo Viera
Liberal Studies (undergrad) Email cgullen@westfield.ma.edu Christopher Gullen
Management (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Marketing (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Math (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Math (post-bacc/grad) Email cvonrenesse@westfield.ma.edu Chrissi Von Renesse
Movement Science (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Movement Science (grad/post-bacc) Email rrausch@westfield.ma.edu Robert Rausch
Music (post-bacc and undergrad licensure) Email fbarber@westfield.ma.edu Felicia Barber
Music (undergrad non-licensure) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Nursing Contact the Nursing department at (413) 572-8335 Nursing Dept.
Nursing (RN to BSN) Email jholden@westfield.ma.edu Jessica Holden
Philosophy Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Physical Science (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Physician Assistant Studies (grad) Email jhixon@westfield.ma.edu Jennifer Hixon
Political Science Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Psychology (undergrad) Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Public Administration Email cdistefano@westfield.ma.edu Charles DiStefano
Social Work (undergrad) Email zabukari@westfield.ma.edu Ziblim Abukari
Social Work (grad) Email mfarinadeparada@westfield.ma.edu Maria del Mar Farina de Parada
Sociology Email advising@westfield.ma.edu Advising Center
Undeclared Email advising@westfield.ma.edu  Advising Center

What if I'm having trouble connecting with my advisor?
Students who are having trouble connecting with their advisor should contact us at (413) 572-8020 or wsucgce@westfield.ma.edu

Where can I go if I need advice about my career path?
Students can always speak to their academic advisor for information about working in the field or going to graduate school.

Students who need more direct help with applying to jobs, constructing a resume, preparing for an interview, or finding networking opportunities, should contact the campus Career Center at (413) 572-5206 or careers@westfield.ma.edu.

I'd like to change my major, who should I speak to?
Students who would like to change their major are encouraged to talk to their current advisor and the advisor for the major they wish to change into.

Changing majors can be a big decision and will affect your program of study, potentially requiring you to complete additional credits. Students can all process a “What If” degree audit through DegreeWorks in their myWestfield account.