Office of Graduate Recruitment and Admissions Advising

Advising, in all forms, is an important part of your time here at Westfield State University. Whether you need help picking classes, want to change your major, or are looking for career advice, the Office of Graduate Recruitment and Admissions can connect you to someone who can help!

Graduate students are strongly encouraged to connect with their academic advisor every semester. Your academic advisor can help you pick classes and has expertise in the field you are pursuing. They are an extremely valuable resource and you should check in with them frequently.

Common Questions

When should I meet with my advisor?
There are many times when it is appropriate to meet with your advisor, such as:

  • Before you begin your first semester at Westfield State
  • Each semester before you register for classes
  • If you are having trouble in a class or with your major
  • If you would like to take a class elsewhere and transfer it in
  • If you have questions about licensing requirements
  • If you’re interested in going to graduate school

Who is my Advisor?

Please see the chart below to find out who the advisor for your program is and how you should make an appointment to meet with them.

Advisors for Graduate Programs

Program How to make an appointment   Advisor
Accounting (grad) Email emoore@westfield.ma.edu Erin Moore
Applied Behavior Analysis (grad) Email jreyes@westfield.ma.edu Jorge Reyes
Art (post-bacc) Email dshapleigh@westfield.ma.edu David Shapleigh
Biology (post-bacc/grad)

Email dchristensen@westfield.ma.edu

Email kmckeown@westfield.ma.edu (Fall 2022 advisor)

David Christensen

Kelly Anne McKeown 

Counseling- Forensic (grad) Email jcamilleri@westfield.ma.edu Joseph Camilleri
Counseling-Mental Health (grad) Email rhayes@westfield.ma.edu Robert Hayes
Counseling-School (grad) Email mletasz@westfield.ma.edu Maria Letasz
Criminal Justice (grad) Email ckudlac@westfield.ma.edu Christopher Kudlac
Education, Early Childhood  Email mtager@westfield.ma.edu Miriam Tager  
Education, Elementary

Email sgrimaldi@westfield.ma.edu

 

Email jlee@westfield.ma.edu

Stephanie Grimaldi (Fall 2022 semester)

Juliet Lee (Spring 2023 semester)

Education, Moderate Disabilities (all levels) Email tmcleod@westfield.ma.edu Tracy McLeod
Education, Reading Specialist (grad) Email sberkowitz@westfield.ma.edu Sandra Berkowitz
Education, Vocational (grad) Call (413) 572-8461 for contact information Donald Jarvis
English (grad/post-bacc) Email gbrewster@westfield.ma.edu Glen Brewster
History (grad/post-bacc) Email jdempsey@westfield.ma.edu John Dempsey
Language and Cultural Studies (grad cert) Email hviera@westfield.ma.edu Hugo Viera
Math (post-bacc/grad) Email cvonrenesse@westfield.ma.edu Chrissi Von Renesse
Movement Science (grad/post-bacc) Email rrausch@westfield.ma.edu Robert Rausch
Music (post-bacc  licensure) Email fbarber@westfield.ma.edu Felicia Barber
Physician Assistant Studies (grad) Email jhixon@westfield.ma.edu Jennifer Hixon
Public Administration Email cdistefano@westfield.ma.edu Charles DiStefano
Social Work (grad) Email mfarinadeparada@westfield.ma.edu Maria del Mar Farina de Parada

What if I'm having trouble connecting with my advisor?
Students who are having trouble connecting with their advisor should contact us at (413) 572-8461 or graduate@westfield.ma.edu.

Where can I go if I need advice about my career path?
Students can always speak to their academic advisor for information about working in the field or going to graduate school.

Students who need more direct help with applying to jobs, constructing a resume, preparing for an interview, or finding networking opportunities, should contact the campus Career Center at (413) 572-5206 or careers@westfield.ma.edu.

I'd like to change my major, who should I speak to?
Students who would like to change their major are encouraged to talk to their current advisor and the advisor for the major they wish to change into.

Changing majors can be a big decision and will affect your program of study, potentially requiring you to complete additional credits. Students can all process a “What If” degree audit through DegreeWorks in their myWestfield account.