Biology Faculty & Staff

The Biology Department consists of fourteen full-time faculty members, numerous adjunct faculty, two laboratory technicians, and one administrative assistant. The full-time faculty all have Ph.D.s in their disciplines of expertise and have accumulated greater than 135 years of experience teaching Westfield State University students. The current Chair is David Christensen.


In Memoriam:  

Westfield State University is saddened by the passing of Dr. Buzz Hoagland, who was a vital part of the campus community for almost 23 years.  Dr. Hoagland's humor, leadership skills, and his presence in class will be missed by all that had the honor of knowing him.  As chair of the Biology Department, he influenced and inspired his students with his passion for biology and his enthusiasm for student research.  

Dr. Buzz Hoagland's Research & Digital Archive

Dr. Hoagland's legacy is being celebrated through the creation of the Dr. Donald "Buzz" Hoagland Student Research Award established through the Westfield State Foundation.  This award will help students with the costs associated with biological field work, such as travel expenses and the purchasing of equipment.  Donations to this award can be made online by visiting or by mail to Westfield State Foundation, PO Box 1630, Westfield MA 01085.